• Home
  • 2018 Fall Gala Featuring Keynote Speaker

2018 Fall Gala Featuring Keynote Speaker

  • October 27, 2018
  • 8:30 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Luminarias Restaurant


Registration is closed

Registration Deadline is
Noon, Friday, October 19, 2018

Click on 'Register' button 
on the left to get started

Keynote Speaker: Margarita Engle

Margareta Engle

2018 Book Award Winners

 Outstanding Picture Book Biography

Michael Mahin
Muddy: The Story of Blues Legend, Muddy Waters
Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2017.

After the Fall by Dan Santat

Excellence in Picture Book

Dan Santat
After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again)
Roaring Brook Press, 2017.

One Last Word by Nikki Grimes

Myra Cohn Livingston Award for Poetry

Nikki Grimes
One Last Word: Wisdom from the Harlem Renaissance
Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2017

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo and Sara Kipin

Peggy Miller Award for Young Adult Literature

Leigh Bardugo and Sara Kipin
The Language of Thorns
Imprint, 2017

Maya Lin: Thinking with Her Hands by Susan Goldman Rubin The Quilts of Gee's Bend by Susan Goldman Rubin

Notable Contribution to the Field of Non-Fiction 

Susan Goldman Rubin

 Maya Lin: Thinking with Her Hands

 Chronicle Books, 2017.


The Quilts of Gee's Bend 

Harry N. Abrams, 2017

Dorothy C. McKenzie Award for Distinguished Service

to the Field of Children's Literature:

Elizabeth Dragga, Founder and Executive Director - The Book Truck 

© Children's Literature Council of Southern California
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software